Are Frosted Flakes Gluten Free?

What is your favorite food for breakfast? Most people would answer cereal especially Frosted Flakes, which is very delicious and sweet because of its sweet taste that mixed well with milk. However for people who are allergic to gluten, they should choose their breakfast cereal very carefully because they need to know whether there is some gluten inside the cereal they eat. Then are Frosted Flakes gluten free or not should be determined before you eat it.

Are Frosted Flakes Gluten Free? Do Frosted Flakes have gluten in it or not?

 Are Frosted Flakes Gluten Free?

Information about Frosted Flakes

Most of Frosted Flakes in the market are made from cornflakes that are covered with sugar. When you see this you will easily say that the Frosted Flakes is gluten free, however you should not be tricked by the ingredient. Frosted Flakes uses artificial sugar such as malt and we all know that the malt is made from barley, and this grain is obviously not gluten free. That is why the true answer would be Frosted Flakes is not gluten free.

However, the Kellogg Company has made a statement on their website that their Frosted Flakes might still be suitable for gluten free diet since the malt does not contain a lot of gluten. That is why the company said that if the person who eats the Frosted Flakes is not too sensitive to gluten, then they would still able to eat them. However, that does not mean everyone can eat this food. The company only stated that it would be suitable for gluten free diet. It does not mean it would be suitable for you who has gluten allergy or worse for people who have celiac disease. That’s why you need to consult with your doctor before you eat this food. You have to know its ingredients to make sure you can eat it.

See Also  What are the Symptoms Of Gluten Intolerance or Celiac Disease?

Option For Other Breakfast Cereal

When you could not eat Frosted Flakes, then there are actually many other breakfast menus that you could eat. For once the Kellogg Company has created Rice Krispies cereal in gluten free version. This version is different from the original version which also uses malt as their sweetener, they also use whole grain brown rice as the main ingredient. Since this new cereal does not contain malt then, it would be safe to consume by people who have gluten allergy or celiac disease.

However, when you purchase the gluten free version you should not choose the wrong product. The Kellogg Company has not replaced the original version, they only add a new version so you should be very careful. The gluten free version would have a box with blue and tan color combination while the original version would only have blue box color. The most important thing is to look for the gluten free signs which available in gluten free version so you would never be wrong when choosing it. With this new gluten free cereal, you do not need to worry again when finding replacement for your Frosted Flakes that contains gluten. Moreover, the new cereal is also as delicious as Frosted Flakes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *