Are Rice Krispies Gluten Free?

The cure to gluten intolerance is fairly simple – exclude the substance from your diet. For lovers of Rice Krispies, the issue is particularly confusing since there is a lot of conflicting information on whether the cereal contains gluten or not. Let’s put an end to the confusion and answer the question of are Rice Krispies gluten free one and for all.

Are Rice Krispies Gluten Free? Do Rice Krispies have gluten in it or not?

Are Rice Krispies Gluten Free?

Traditional Product

Rice Krispies are an incredibly popular cereal product. They are made by the Kellogg food conglomerate and first appeared in stores in 1927. Although the recipe for making the cereal has been adjusted from time to time over the last 90 years, the one thing that has remained constant is traditional Rice Krispies cereal contains gluten. The gluten is present because of the use of barley in the product. This is not the end of the story.

Modern Interpretation

Food companies have long ignored the needs of people with special dietary needs, particularly those with gluten intolerances. Gluten simply plays too important a role in the form and texture of processed food for most companies to exclude it from their products. At least, this has been the traditional view by companies.

The last five years has seen food companies change their attitude as research has revealed just how wide spread the gluten intolerance problem is. The result is many of these companies have worked to develop gluten free versions of their products.

On May 11, 2011, Kellogg announced it would offer a gluten free version of Rice Krispies cereal. The company then followed through on the promise by delivering a gluten free version of the cereal to stores for the first time in June of 2011 and continue to offer the product to this day.

See Also  Are Graham Crackers Gluten Free?

Kellog Rice Krispies for People with Celiac Disease

Before you rush off to buy a box of Rice Krispies, there is one thing you need to understand. Kellogg still sells the traditional version of the cereal with that contains gluten. Before purchasing your Rice Krispies, make sure you are buying the gluten free version!

Are Rice Krispies treats gluten free? Yes, so long as you purchase the correct version of the product.

Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Gluten Free Cereal, Whole Grain Brown Rice

Are Rice Krispies Gluten Free?This is a special product from Kellogg for gluten free families. Now your family can enjoy Rice Krispies Treats Marshmallow Squares. Whole grain brown rice is the key why this food is gluten free with the classic taste. If you want the original crisped rice cereal with no gluten, then you can try this product. Click Here to View the Product!

See also other Gluten Free Products here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *