It is true that celiac disease people need to avoid gluten since it will cause a bad reaction to the body. Gluten is a protein which you can find in grains like barley, wheat, or rye. Those grains are the main sources of gluten protein, and if you suffer from celiac, you need to avoid them and all of its derived foods.
Is Balsamic Vinegar Gluten Free? Does Balsamic Vinegar Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Avoid gluten is the only way that celiac disease people can do because there is no cure for celiac. Therefore, they need to maintain gluten-free diet program by list foods or ingredients that contain no gluten or gluten-free. For example, if you like to prepare foods with balsamic vinegar then is balsamic vinegar gluten free? We need to answer this question for your safety if you suffer from celiac.
Gluten and Balsamic Vinegar Information
Regarding the question about whether balsamic vinegar is gluten free or not it needs a long explanation. First, you need to know from the root that is pure vinegar. There are two different opinions about vinegar and whether pure vinegar is gluten-free or not. Many experts said that vinegar and even vinegar made from gluten grains are gluten-free. Why? It is because distillation process in vinegar will break the gluten and its protein fragments. This distillation processes also are known well in wheat alcohol. That is why they say that celiac disease people can safely consume vinegar in their gluten-free diet program. Other experts seem to disagree about this answer. They questioned the safety of anything that starts with gluten grains and so does vinegar that made from grains.
The conclusion is there is vinegar with gluten, and also there is vinegar that free from gluten. How about balsamic vinegar? Balsamic vinegar made from grapes and it is the gluten-free source. Therefore, balsamic vinegar is gluten-free, and celiac disease people can include it in gluten-free diet list. But you should pay attention with cross-contamination that can happen in balsamic vinegar such as gluten facility or shared kitchen. Otherwise, it is safe to consume by celiac disease people.
Other Vinegar that Free from Gluten and Not Free from Gluten
How about the other vinegar? Is there any vinegar that not free from gluten? We will give you some list of it such as:
- Malt Vinegar: Malt vinegar is made from barley, and we all know that barley is one of the gluten sources besides wheat and rye. Therefore, malt vinegar contains gluten.
- Rice Vinegar: You can consume rice vinegar because it is gluten-free. Although you still need to watch out for some rice vinegar with barley malt on it when you to go to a restaurant.
- Wine Vinegar: Wine vinegar also the other gluten-free vinegar which safe to be consumed by celiac disease people.
- Apple Cider Vinegar: Apple cider vinegar is made from apple cider and of course, it is not gluten grains, and that is why the apple cider is free from gluten.
- Flavored Vinegar: There is some flavored vinegar that contains gluten ingredients, and you need to be careful by reading the label.