Is Ezekiel Bread Gluten Free?

Some of you who want to get a better alternative to the wheat bread you always consume, you should have heard about this Ezekiel bread. This type of bread considered to be healthier so people who could not eat wheat bread will turn to Ezekiel bread as a part of their diet. But then is Ezekiel bread gluten free? Even if we said that most people who do not want to eat wheat bread turn to this Ezekiel bread, but that does not mean it would be safe for you who intolerant to gluten.

Is Ezekiel Bread Gluten Free? Does Ezekiel Bread Have Gluten In It Or Not?

Is Ezekiel Bread Gluten Free?

What is actually inside the Ezekiel bread?

This Ezekiel bread is made from grains and legumes that are sprouted before being used inside the bread so the nutrient would be able to be preserved inside the grain rather than throwing it away. The grain that they use for this bread consist of 4 whole grains such as barley, millet, and wheat, while the legumes that they use for this bread are lentil and soybean. What makes this Ezekiel bread different from the ordinary wheat bread that you usually use is that the grains and legumes are grown organically so it would be much healthier. Moreover, it also do not contain a lot of sugar so it could make your diet safer.

Gluten inside the Ezekiel bread

As you can see above, this Ezekiel bread is made mainly from grain that contains gluten except for the millet grain. However, after all the ingredient are mixed together the millet would from not be free gluten anymore. That is why we could say that Ezekiel bread is not free from gluten.

See Also  Is Peanut Butter Gluten Free?

However there are some people that might say to you that if the grain is sprouted before being used, then it would not contain any gluten at all, they might even say that inside the bread the gluten would not be visible. But all of that statement is not true and just a big lie. The gluten would still available inside the grains even after they are being sprouted, and using it in bread would not make it gluten-free. That is why you should check the ingredient of the bread you want to eat before you purchase it.

Alternate of Ezekiel bread for gluten-free

Even when you could not eat any Ezekiel bread, it does not mean you could not eat another type of bread. The main thing that you need to do is to change the grains used to make the bread with some grains that do not contain any gluten at all. Type of grain that you could use are millet and buckwheat; when you do not use these grains with other grains that might contaminate it, then the bread you create would be gluten-free. You could even sprout the grains before you make your bread so the nutrient could come out more from the grain. It would be better when you make your own bread so you would be able to choose which ingredient you use for the bread.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *