Is Hummus Gluten Free?

As a person who has celiac disease, finding a gluten-free food might become a challenge for you, especially because you need to know anything inside the food you want to buy. That is why information about every ingredient that might be available inside the food would be needed so you could make sure that there are no threatening ingredients that might be available inside the food. Then what about hummus, what actually this food is made of, and then is hummus gluten-free or not? To know it, we must take a look further about this food.

Is Hummus Gluten Free? Does Hummus Have Gluten In It Or Not?

Is Hummus Gluten Free?

Information About Hummus Ingredient

The traditional hummus is made from chickpeas that are smashed or blended with oil, lemon, salt, and garlic. When we see this ingredient inside the hummus, then we could say that the hummus is gluten-free. However, we could not stop only at that because the more modern hummus that we often see in the market right now has other added ingredient such as flour. Moreover, there would also be the possibility of the hummus to be contaminated by anything when they are produced.

That is why you should be very careful when purchasing any hummus at the store and you should always check for their ingredient to make sure that they do not add anything inside the hummus or having the possibility of cross-contamination during the process of manufacturing. It would be better when the hummus is already certified with a gluten-free label which indicates that they are really gluten-free.

See Also  Is Ezekiel Bread Gluten Free?

How To Make Sure Hummus Is Gluten Free

It would be better when you could cook your own hummus so you would be able to make sure it is completely gluten-free. All you need to do is to prepare the ingredient such as two teaspoons salt; 4.15 ounce of chickpeas, six tablespoons minced parsley, three quarter cups of olive oil, one tablespoon coriander grounded, three quarter cups of Tahini paste, one tablespoon cumin grounded, one quarter cups of fresh lemon juice, two tablespoons minced garlic and grounded paper.

After you have that entire ingredient, all you need to do is to mix them all evenly and then put it in your blender. If you have a small blender, you might need to blend them in two batches. After all of that smooth, you could use it right away or store it inside the refrigerator to be used later because they flavor would come out more after you refrigerate it the whole night.

Do not forget when you prepare the entire ingredient and use any tools equipment, and then you need to make sure they are all free from any trace of gluten. It would be better when you have separated kitchen so there would not be any problem with gluten cross-contamination. For you should make sure if all things you prepare inside the gluten-free kitchen would also be gluten-free. Then you could make sure that your family health would be protected from any possibility of gluten contamination.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *