Since celiac disease people need to avoid meals that contain gluten, they need always to be careful with food products offered in stores. This may make you tired and struggle about how to find a good meal without any gluten in it. Breakfast is the time you can enjoy early dishes such as delicious and low-calorie Quaker Oatmeal with various fruits as extra ingredients to make it more tasteful. But, is Quaker Oatmeal safe for celiac disease people? Is it okay to consume Quaker Oatmeal if you suffer from gluten insensitivity?
Is Quaker Oatmeal Gluten Free? Does Quaker Oatmeal Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Pure oatmeal without any extra ingredients is safe to consume for celiac disease people because it is gluten-free. Put it aside, oatmeal with extra ingredients sometimes are not safe since it may contain some gluten in those added ingredients. How about Quaker Oatmeal? There is not the gluten-free label on Quaker Oatmeal package, so we cannot find the exact answer whether Oatmeal from Quaker brand is safe to consume for gluten intolerance. Not to mention that most oatmeal brands offered in stores today are not pure.
Cross-Contamination in Oatmeal
Pure oatmeal certainly is gluten free but today oatmeal in the market can contain gluten because of cross-contamination. If you still do not sure about whether your oatmeal which you buy is 100 percent gluten-free or not, then you need to buy only oatmeal products that labeled with gluten-free certification.
But still, you need always to pay attention to cross contamination in oatmeal. Oatmeal can be contaminated through the oatmeal process until the packaging process and even when they already at stores. The problems of gluten cross-contamination also valid for Quaker Oatmeal brand. Therefore, a certified gluten-free oatmeal brand can also get some cross contamination. There are some cross contamination cases which possible can happen:
- Oatmeal can contaminate with gluten during the milling Some companies do not separate the machine to grind their oat and wheat or other grains. That is why after they grind the wheat, they clean it and use it again to process the oat. You cannot be sure the wheat already one hundred percent cleaned on those machines since it would take much time to clean the milling machine. Moreover, not only the machine will be the cause of cross-contamination, but also other facilities such as storage areas.
- Oatmeal can contaminate with gluten during the delivery process: You can be sure that the companies use different trucks to deliver the oatmeal from one place to another. It possible that they use the same truck to bring the wheat or grains and the oatmeal.
Oatmeal Brands which 100 Percent Certified Gluten Free
Example of other oatmeal brands that certified with gluten-free label such as:
- Cream Hill Estates brand: They guarantee that they use pure So it safe for celiac disease people to consume.
- Avena Food brand: This product also safe to consume for gluten intolerance.
- Bobs Red Mill: This product made with gluten-free facility also they already stated that the oatmeal is gluten-free.