Are Potatoes Gluten Free?

People who suffer from Celiac Disease need to avoid foods that contain gluten. If they eat food with gluten, it will cause several problems such as diarrhea, vomit, and anemia. Unfortunately, there is no medicine to cure Celiac Disease so as a solution for this problem people who suffer this rare disease need to do gluten free diet. Making a list for foods that gluten free is difficult since most foods that we eat contain gluten. How about potato, are potatoes gluten free? Indeed that potato is everyone favorites and if you eat natural potato without nothing added to them then they are gluten free. So Celiac Disease people can still enjoy their potato meal.

Are Potatoes Gluten Free? Do Potatoes have gluten in it or not?

Are Potatoes Gluten Free?

Potato That Safe to Eat For Gluten-Free Diet

Raw or natural potato is free from gluten, but you still need to pay attention to the way you prepare your potato meals because wrong preparation will lead the potato not gluten free anymore from the added ingredients. Example for safe preparation such as baked, soup, mashed, and fried potatoes. But still, there is things you need to know about how to prepare the potatoes:

Baked potatoes:

Are baked potatoes gluten free? The answer is yes. But you need to be careful when you order baked potatoes at restaurant since some restaurants may prepare the potatoes along with other foods and it can cause contamination. If the baked potatoes contaminate with gluten foods then they will not gluten free anymore. Therefore, when you store your potatoes ask your family to not store their foods in the same location on racks or oven.

See Also  What are the Symptoms Of Gluten Intolerance or Celiac Disease?

Potato soup:

Potato soup is delicious food which you still can enjoy in your gluten free diet. What you need to do is just to make sure that the ingredients you use to cook the soup us gluten free such as cheese, onion, spices, carrot, milk, and broth. Remember that not all broth is gluten free so you need to be wise when picking the broth and since we do not know how the restaurant prepares their soup, it is better to make your own potato soup at home.

Mashed potatoes:

Most mashed potatoes are gluten free. When prepare your mashed potatoes you can cook them by adding some milk and unsalted butter. You may or may not use pepper and salt to make the dish has taste that you desired. If you wish to purchase instant mashed potato, then most of it is gluten free. But, you still need to read the ingredients on the package just to make sure that they do not contain thickeners.

Fried Potatoes:

Fried potatoes are safe to eat since they are gluten free. To prepare fried potatoes never try to use oil that already be used to cook other dishes since the fried potatoes will contaminated and not gluten free anymore. When you go outside to eat in some restaurant, most of them cook the fried potatoes with already used oil. Therefore, it is safer when you eat fried potatoes which you prepare on your own.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *